My Kind of Town

4 Apr

I’ve got a little trip coming up. We’re head to Chicago for a short weekend to celebrate Suzanne’s 40th birthday. (PS – I can’t believe all of my friends are turning 40! It’s weird because I’ve been 35 for a few years now.)

I like the bean.

Anyway, I’ve been to The Windy City several times and typically spend my days on Michigan Avenue bumming from H & M to Nordstrom’s Rack and Lord and Taylor and that huge Crate and Barrel. (Of course, I do love that huge Crate and Barrel . . . three floors of inspiration and dreamy seating). The friends I visit Chicago with are not my flea market/antiquing friends (I have very few of those friends in the real world). These friends wouldn’t understand the pure joy I get from scouring through dirty little crowded rooms full of “schtuff” for a little treasure.

So this time I’m taking a stand. I’m not shopping for clothes. Chicago is a huge city, and I bet there are tons of antique haunts and flea markets just waiting for my good money. Plus MM will be there, and he’s got a good eye and a good imagination. He’s been with me for 12 years now and I think he kind of enjoys the dirty little crowded rooms.

So I’ve scouted out Andersonville as a place to spend our Saturday afternoon. Andersonville dubs itself as “a quaint village in the middle of a world-class city.” I like it. They seem to have a nice little selection of antiques and home stores.

Like this: a store called Foursided–they have a fun blog and it looks like a second store called Twosided. I can tell I’ll like them–their About Us says: Our goal is to bring imagination to life with art, ephemera, and antiques.

There was also this:

From Roost

Love the name and the photo makes me want to jump on in.

Woolly Mammouth Antiques

I think this place will appeal to the irreverent and silly side of my decorating self. They specialize in Rare Taxidermy. That could be entertaining.

Anyway, there are a few more places like Scout and Brimfield that I’m also eager to visit. I’ll be sure to take my camera so I can share some of our finds.

And it will be fun to compare notes with my friends that evening–find out what I missed on the Miracle Mile while I was scrounging for some truly original stuff. Can’t wait!

One Response to “My Kind of Town”

  1. Molly April 15, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    You are going to have so much fun!

Leave a Reply

