Ode to the split-level home

3 May

Split level houses became very popular in the 1950s, ’60s and ’70s, as a compromise between the modest bungalow and the more expansive ranch house. Realtor magazine says that split levels evolved from ranch homes, which had evolved from Frank Lloyd Wright’s Prairie house style. I took the above information from here on ShelterPop and a post about The Brady House. There appears to be some controversy over whether the ranch really evolved from FLW, but regardless, you didn’t see many split-levels or ranches before the 1950s.

Let’s face it–the Brady house is not pretty. In general, I don’t think split-level and multi-level homes like mine are pretty, but they do have their advantages. For instance, last Friday I was inspired to host a Watch Party for the Royal Wedding. I am a morning person and I work out with other morning people so the guest list was relatively small (about seven women and one British man who lives across the street. The Brit was there to answer any questions we had during the ceremony. Oh, and he brought English Tea. 🙂

Since we live in the Midwest, the wedding started at 5 a.m. for us, so our group gathered at 4:45 a.m. (I wasn’t about to watch it on a DVR or a Tivo–I wanted to experience it live, just like I did Diana’s wedding at 9 years old and her funeral many years later). With my husband, a six-year-old and three-year-old snuggled asleep in their beds upstairs, I simply opened the garage and invited my pajama-clad group into the basement. We did wear, of course, hats and drink out of my china.

This is post-party. I had a silver platter with fruit too but it wasn't so pretty after the fact.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We enjoyed the festivities, spoke in our normal voices, and never once woke up anyone upstairs. The party was over and everyone was gone before most of my family woke up. I think this would have been rather difficult in another style where people would have had to walk through a main family area to get to the basement. So, although, I often curse the not-so-charming aspects of my 1950s home, in this case, I was pleased. It was great, or to put it like the Royals might,  quite brilliant really.

Leave a Reply

