Funky Sling Chair

27 Oct

Well, my 31 days of progress didn’t totally turn out like I’d expected. Life, as usual, got in the way. But I did complete this project that has been on my list for actually a couple years. And it’s only the 23rd of the month, so I’m pleased.

Here’s the chair before. I picked this up at an antiques market in Iowa for $8.

I already own one of these old hammock chairs and it’s on my front porch most of the time. I love them. They are comfortable and easy to store and have a fun architectural element to them.

The frame and fabric of this one were worn out.

So my hubby and the neighbor helped remove screws and sand it down.

And I found inspiration in my favorite flip flops.

And I finally found the perfect green in a spray paint can at Joann’s Fabrics.

And I’m no seamstress so the sewing, even just the simplest of seams, can pose a challenge.

For some reason the bobbin has to be wound a certain direction. This was clearly the wrong direction.

Kinda looks like a messy caterpillar but I kept repeating to myself The Nester’s Mantra that “it doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful.” So after 23 days, tiny bits of time and effort squeezed in here and there, I think it’s beautiful. And guess what? It’s comfortable too!


It’s a nice fall touch to my porch. I even like it with the chippy blue of my favorite glider swing.

So this morning I crossed this off my long list of home projects with a great sense of accomplishment. And now I move on to the next item. Until then, here’s to small but productive bits of progress.

Read more about this chair here and here.

Leave a Reply

