Resolution 2012

3 Jan

Typeverything.com 2012: For ever and ever

I’ve always been one to make resolutions. I love the idea of setting goals and fresh starts and seeing where it gets me. In fact, since high school I also always participate in giving up something for Lent. This is something my particular church doesn’t practice but I do. My first year it was potatoes–chips and French fries–that was hard on a teenage girl but . . .  I digress. The point is goals are important and having a set beginning and ending time (in this case, a calendar year) makes them seem more attainable.

Over the years my resolutions have included the typical–exercise more, eat better, blah blah blah. I’m not including any of that this year. I feel like I exercise as regularly as I ever will so why put undue pressure on myself. One year it was to drink only one Coke (pop) per day. That one stuck. I rarely drink pop anymore and never more than one a day.

My favorite recent resolution was when I committed to selling or donating something every week. Selling (making a little money) or donating something (lightening the load) on a consistent basis really helped me evaluate the stuff I save. I’ll admit it didn’t happen every week but it probably did every month, and I continue to consistently rid myself of stuff.

My resolutions for 2012 are simple.

1. Read one book per month.

I miss reading. Having young children and not being a night person (one who can lie in bed and read before going to sleep) has made my reading really wane in the past few years. I feel like there are so many good books that I’m missing. Reading is good for a writer and good for the soul. I can’t wait to get started.

2. Write a blog post every week.

As a part-time marketing director, full-time mom to young children I don’t have the time right now to commit to more than that. I think it’s a good start though, and when 2012 is over, we’ll see where we are.

And anyway, it sounds a lot easier than 40 days without potatoes.

Leave a Reply

