Can’t pass by

23 Jan

I’ve been thrifting a lot lately. It’s something my almost-four-year-old and I do on our afternoons together. He’s a good companion and surprisingly patient throughout these adventures. He likes to look at all the schtuff (as I call it) too, and if he picks something up, I don’t get stressed because most of it is less than $5.

After years of antiquing, I see things at these thrift stores that I can’t pass by. I KNOW it’s worth more than what they are asking. This could get bad, though. Yes, I found a chair for $6 that I found on ebay for $130,  but I can’t do that every time. I don’t have the storage space and I don’t want to keep something just because it was a smokin’ deal. But what’s a girl to do?

I heard milk glass was really hot right now. Brides love it! I think Martha did a segment about Milk Glass Weddings. The things that look like open-bottomed vases are actually milk glass shades that would look awesome hanging over a breakfast bar or island. They were 99 cents each. How can I leave them? Some other wannabe thrift blogger like myself will just snatch them up if I don’t!

And this ironstone platter. It’s only about 8″ long but it’s solid and heavy and I’ve been watching my friend Cathy buy these for years. I had to grab it for $1 in her honor, right?

And enamelware? Can’t, can’t pass it by. My mom still uses her enamelware double-boiler and I’ve always had a soft spot for anything with red. I used the bowl for my Christmas centerpiece and just found this covered pot last week.

And these little plates were adorable. They look Art Deco, I thought. They are only 6″ in diameter but the design is so cute. I actually had a  store in town in mind when I picked these up. I guess I have dreams of being a “picker” . . .

And this was my most extreme purchase but again I think it’s worth a ton more than the $20 I paid.

It’s actually about 10.5 inches tall with an open bottom. Again, I think it’s Art Deco in design and it looks like Milk Glass. People love vintage light fixtures, and it’s cool. But what do I do with it? I asked the store if they wanted it (that and the milk glass), but they “passed.” There goes my dreams of being a picker.

What do I do with all of this stuff? I don’t have the time right now to open an Etsy store? I love the idea but that’s a lot of work in terms of photography, marketing, shipping, etc.

My friend Steve has an antique booth that I could piggyback on probably, although his taste is decidedly more primitive. He says he can always use “smalls,” an antiquer’s word for little things, not furniture or anything big. So I guess I’ll give that a try.

What about you? Is there anything you can’t pass by?

5 Responses to “Can’t pass by”

  1. Cathy January 23, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Yea ironstone! Love it and gotta love a dollar! Thanks for the purchase in my honor!

  2. Monica January 24, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    What to do with it…I think you use them as gift bases for people that you think of…kind of like you did with your centerpiece. Or twice yearly “thrift sales” that you advertise via your blog and Mark’s photographic highlighting, staged with ideas on how to use.

  3. yarnchic40 January 26, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    loves me some enamelware too 🙂 when you figure out a solution ~ let me know ~ I have boxes upon boxes of stuff to unload too but I don’t want to make the commitment to etsy either.

  4. Allison May 9, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    I love all of your finds! I too am a sucker for milk glass. I literally have to talk myself out of buying another Hull brown drip bowl/pitcher/cup etc. They are my every day dishes and I use the mixing bowls all the time. My grandmother used to have a set when I was a kid, so there is a big nostalgia factor for me.
    Great finds and post! Thanks for sharing.
    ~Allison

Leave a Reply

