The Not-So-Charming '50s

1 Mar

It is purely my opinion that a vast amount of charm got lost in the 1950s when it came to home design and construction. People who have older homes, those built in the 1920s, ’30s and ’40s, have front porches, solid wood doors, arched doorways, quaint bathroom tile, glass and crystal hardware and leaded glass windows. Of course these homes have their own set of problems, but an innate charming vibe sets them apart.

In homes, particularly tract homes in suburbs, of the 1950s, things got funky and not always in a good way. My home, and others in my neighborhood,  have to overcome issues like:

– Easter Egg-colored bathrooms

– Ugly wood

– Hollow-wood doors

– Unusually long, formal living rooms

– The loss of front porches and curb appeal in general

– Ugly white “stone” fireplaces

– Old-fashioned intercom systems

– Built-in planters

In my home I’ve tackled some of these design challenges, and some of them are still on my list. (Photos are forthcoming) And yes, I have a long list of positive things that come from ’50s-era homes, including hardwood floors and solid construction, but that’s not what this post is about.

I know I’m missing a bunch from my list of uglies, so feel free to add on.

One Response to “The Not-So-Charming '50s”

  1. Tracy March 8, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Flow. I’m big on flow in a house, but I’m not here to rip on your house because it’s kind of like picking on your sibling. You can do it but no one else should dare to attempt. I don’t have a 1950s house (mine comes from that era you termed charming), but I share the pain of choosing the character over the long “To Do” list. Us old home owners are a conflicted bunch aren’t we.

Leave a Reply

